Are You Linkedin?

Today, my cyber-friend, Chris Russell blogged about how linkedin.com has become a national resume database and a source of choice for recruiters who love to snag “passive” job seekers who are not actually looking for work!

Personally, I think linkedin is a fabulous resource, even if you aren’t looking (even passively) for a job.  I first became a fan when I located two long-lost high school friends on linkedin when Google and other search resources proved useless.  

When I first joined, I was amazed at how quickly my network grew and the connections I gained.  If you don’t join, you may never know that a good friend of yours has a first-hand connection to someone in a position to hire you or provide crucial career advice or information!

In addition to serving as a source for recruiters, Linkedin offers tools to help you create and promote  a personal brand.  The “Answers” section provides a forum to demonstrate your expertise as well as a great place to network with professionals in your industry and beyond.   Often, if you provide a response that seems useful, you will be invited to “link” with the questioner, thus expanding your contacts.

Don’t forget that networking is important throughout your career, even when (especially when) you are NOT looking for a job.  Don’t miss the linkedin boat!

Keppie Careers will help you with every aspect of your job search.  www.keppiecareers.com

3 Responses to “Are You Linkedin?”


  1. 1 Osita March 13, 2008 at 1:29 am

    There is a professional gap in linkedin which I hope I can help bridge. that has to do with healthcare workers. Not much emphasis is placed on this huge group, but I think they are among the most mobile workforce on earth at present. I was excited when I saw your blog on wordpress. I will visit more often. Feel free to link to me. You have what it takes.
    Osita

  2. 2 keppie March 13, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Osita,
    Thanks for your kind comment! It is great that you are seeing a need and trying to fill it. None of this social networking or “cyber networking” would happen without people willing to take leadership roles. I look forward to your participation on my blog!
    Miriam


  1. 1 Don’t Be Desperate…Job Search Techniques To Avoid « Keppie Careers - A Head Above the Rest Trackback on April 15, 2008 at 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

Featured in Alltop
View Miriam Cohen Salpeter's profile on LinkedIn
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

